Constructed in 1904, this classic Edwardian former home of EV Tillson, grandson of Tillsonburg’s founder, George Tillson, was inspired by Nathanial Hawthorne’s The House of Seven Gables. Nestled on 5 acres of land and located steps from downtown Tillsonburg, Seven Gables is the perfect blend of accessibility and privacy.
Owners Ed and Maureen McLaughlin embarked on an ambitious renovation of the property. It was important to preserve and revitalize some of the history of Tillsonburg. They saw the creation of this bed and breakfast as an opportunity to fill a need in the community while keeping it original and authentic to Tillsonburg. The structure and the bones of the building were in amazing condition and so with some adjustments and the addition of amenities of the modern day, a new bed and breakfast was birthed.
E.D. Tillson, the first mayor of Tillsonburg, built 6 mills during the 1870’s and this is the only one
left standing. Built in 1878, it was the smallest of all 6 and once shared the surrounding valley with
2 of the other mills (flour & corn), stretching from the present Simcoe Street bridge to Coronation
In 2000 Gordon & Lauralee Craig purchased the mill from the Laister estate and began steady
renovations that would span over the next 9 years. Gordon had many ideas for the revival of this mill, mainly a vision for the property that featured a restaurant with a glassed-in patio overlooking the Big Otter Creek and the Coronation Park. His ambition was to create a building with some character, something different, while also preserving the historical qualities of the mill’s structure.
Gordon was eager to revive this piece of Tillsonburg’s past in the form of a new, functioning business that the town residents and tourists from all over could appreciate. He wanted to provide an experience for customers, more than the traditional in-and-out restaurant/hotel routine. Features like a glassed-in patio encourage visitors to take their time and absorb the surroundings at their own pace. Still, the highest appeal would be showcasing the robust, antique beauty of the mill’s structure and bringing to life the history it represents for new & old generations alike. The inner workings left in the basement were gradually removed and the antique millstones are now proudly displayed outside as commemorative monuments paying homage to the mill’s past. Naturally finished wood is the main theme, covering all 5 stories of the exterior and the interior as well. Each of the 10 lodging rooms features a different kind of wood finish, from walnut to oak. Some of the furniture pieces are genuine, hand-crafted carpentry. These organic touches help maintain the wholesome, old-fashioned appeal of the mill.
Mill Tales Inn
Plan your stay at the Howard Johnson BY WYNDHAM - Tillsonburg, conveniently located near Lake Lisgar Waterpark and accessible through Highway 19. Our pet-friendly and 100% smoke-free location offers clean and accommodating guest rooms that place you within easy reach to the area's best attractions.